July 6, 2013 – Just out for a ride.

Today started with two disappointments:
1) I have a long time friend, Russ McCall, that lives in Cherry Valley, New York. I called to tell him I was in the area and would like to stop for a visit. Found out from his daughter that he is in North Carolina visiting his son and will not be back till the middle of next week. So, I don’t get to see my friend. He and I were stationed at Grand Forks, AFB North Dakota from 1966 till 1969.
2) Loaded the bike up and was ready to hit the road, and it would not start. The battery (which was 3 or 4 years old) was to weak to turn the engine over. So, I rolled it down the motel driveway, bumped started it, and found a battery at an auto parts store about a mile down the road.

Vermont is a beautiful state with a bunch of people that have crazy political views. I think we should send them Rick Perry to get them straightened out. If you ever have the opportunity to visit Vermont, do it.

Since all I did today was add miles, I’ll tell ya what ol’ Not-So-Bad is doing. Yesterday he had a tour of the Jim Beam Distillery in Kentucky, and today he went to boat races in Tennessee. That guy can find a good time. I was going to post a picture he sent to my iPhone but I’m having some technical difficulties trying to get it on my Netbook. It was a really cool looking drag boat. He didn’t send me any pictures from Jim Beam, but he did take advantage of the free samples.

Tomorrow I’m off to the Falls. Maybe I’ll got some picture there.

Leave a comment